Photoshop.com Album: Principles of Design


In order of picture:

Balance

Contrast

Emphasis

Movement

Proportion

Repitition

Simplicity

Space

Unity

Definitions:

Balance – The distribution of the visual weight of objects, colors, texture, and space.

Movement – The path the viewer’s eye takes through the artwork, often to focal areas. Movement can be directed along lines edges, shape and color within the artwork.

Repetition – Works with pattern to make the artwork seem active. The repetition of elements of design creates unity within the artwork.

Emphasis – The part of the design that catches the viewer’s attention.

Simplicity – Look for ways to give the center of interest in your pictures the most visual attention.

Contrast – Contrast occurs when two elements are different. You want to make sure the differences are obvious.

Proportion – The feeling of unity created when all parts (sizes, amounts, or number) relate well with each other.

Space – The area between and around objects. Space can also refer to the feeling of depth.

Unity – the feeling of harmony between all parts of the artwork creating a sense of completeness.

 

During this assignment, I didn’t learn a whole lot, but doing this helped me kind of get back into the swing of things. I realized that I have gotten a little rusty over the year since I took photo 1, but this assignment helped me out a little bit. My favorite picture is either the picture of the samurai sword (simplicity) or the two kids fighting (movement). I also liked the one for space, because it was so simple to take but looked like a really complicated picture. I had fun taking pictures during the past week, I can’t wait for the next assignment; MOVEMENT! It’s one of my favorite things to take pictures of, but it is difficult. I think during this assignment it took me somewhere between 10-15 tries to get a good picture of movement. I learned at the end that in order to get a good movement picture, I have to use rapid shooting so that I catch every second of the movement and then I can pick the best out of them.

 

Leave a Reply

